The Anglesey Draghounds was founded by a group of Flint and Denbigh hunting couples.  In the winter of 1971 there were a series of dinner parties which culminated in the formation of the hunt. The group consisted of Tom and Eleri O'Connor (whose idea the hunt was), the owners of the Henffordd Garage (now Pentraeth Automotive) and the Tai'n y Coed Stud where they bred race horses.  Also Angela and David Evans, a Llangefni solicitor, Alison and John McInerney, proprietors of Trefor Stables, John and Shirley Pollard (University Lecturer) and Lesley and Lin Heysham who were voted in as Masters because they had facilities to keep the hounds at their home in Bryn Fuchas, Dulas on the north east coast of the island. Leslie was Master for five years and also hunted the hounds. The first Chairman was Tom O'Connor who kept the Henfod Stud.  He was followed by Selwyn Lloyd Jones when Anglesey Draghounds was still under the Mastership of Leslie Heysham.

When Leslie retired in 1978, the Mastership was taken over by Eamon O'Donnell, a vet, who kept the hounds in purpose-built kennels at his home at Treriffri, Carmel, near Llanerchymedd. Eamon hunted hounds for seven years and was joined as Chairman by John Beardsley, a local hotelier and father of our present Master. John stayed in post until 1982, when Capt John Pollard of Red Wharf Bay took over for two years. John Pollard's daughter and granddaughter both hunt regularly.

When Eamon retired in 1985 and moved to the Isle of Man, Leslie Heysham again filled in for twelve months as Master and Huntsman.

Eddie Roberts became Master and Huntsman in 1986, after a period as Chairman from 1984 to 1985. He held the reins with Patrick Furneval as Chairman until 1991.

The tradition of Masters hunting hounds changed in 1991, when Joint Masters Tony Beardsley and Trevor Wear took over. They have proven to be the longest serving Masters in the history of the hunt. Hounds were re-located to Llain Grin Kennels at Trefor, near Bodedern where they were kept and hunted by Ian Graves for eleven years, before he retired from the post.

As well as being a Joint Master, Tony Beardsley held the Chair until 2002, when Sir Ken Ashley took over. Ken travelled from Cheshire every Saturday to support the hunt. After five years another change was been made in 2007 with Beth Cowell of Bodffordd becoming the first lady Chair person to hold the post.

After Ian's retirement in 2002, hounds needed a new home and huntsman.  Gwyn Jones of Gwalchmai now looked after the hounds and they were hunted for eleven seasons by Carl Owen, of Bangor. 

Beth resigned as Chairman in 2011, when Trevor Wear agreed to take on the role until his resignation as both Chairman and Master in 2013. Trevor is a life member of Anglesey Draghounds.

In 2014, tradition has again come to the fore, with longest serving Master, Mr Tony Beardsley also carrying the horn. Hounds have a happy new home in the middle of the island. Mr Beardsley was also elected Chairman by the committee. He is  also a life member, as is Mrs Lindy Wood of Porth Swtan who, although no longer hunting, supports in many other ways.

These are the people who are at the heart of your hunting day. They take responsibility for both the day to day running of the hunt and its long term reputation and prosperity, ensuring that the landowners and graziers are treated courteously and with repect and that various local charities are supported. They would not be able to do this without the support of other committee members, area representatives and volunteers. These people are as much a part of the history of Anglesey Draghounds as those named above.